My Anxiety Self-Care Practices (Part 2)

Thank you for the lovely messages, everyone. I deeply appreciate the concerns and your sharing of your stories. I am glad that my experiences and coping strategies are helping. Your comments aid me too in deciding which topics I can write about in the near future. 🙂

Anyway, here is part two of my self-care practices on anxiety.  (Read part one here) If you have any clarifications or you want to share some of your own, you are more than welcome to drop a comment or an email. Wahuuuu!

During and after panic attack

  • Before I reach full escalation, I muster the strength to call one of my primary care. As soon as I am in contact/ I am with him/her, I release my emotions.
  • My primary care helps me gain focus on the reality by:
    • doing breathing techniques with them
    • letting me hold their hands / hug them
    • soothing me by NOT saying “Calm down.” ; she/he knows the command just does the opposite
    • listening to my concerns and responding gently, always aiming to ground me back to the present moment
    • by my request, assisting in taking my attack medication
  • “This too shall pass.” I repeat these words in my head until the attack dissipates.
  • After the attack, I acknowledge and process the experience by not blaming anyone especially myself. I rest.

General Self-Care Practices

  • Practicing mindfulness. This therapy has helped me cope with a lot of stressful situations by meditation, walking, and journaling. I’m perusing Dr. Bob Stahl and Dr. Elisha Goldstein’s Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook.
  • Exercise! In my case, my exercises are carefully reviewed and prescribed by my physiatrist due to my Fibromyalgia. Doing my sets (especially cycling!) everyday helps me manage my mood and keep myself in touch.
  • Overcoming triggers one by one. HA! This is a work-in-progress since I have a LOT of anxiety triggers. I’ll write a separate post for this.
  • Listening to soft, classical music. Cliche as this sounds, Yo-Yo Ma’s playing of Bach’s Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major relaxes me when I write or review for my academics.
  • Painting. I just started this two years ago and I found it as one of my effective outlets.

Recommended Resources:

  • If you are curious about mindfulness, click this free, online MBSR site that offers an eight-week course! Swearing by this because I get some of my meditation recordings here.
  • If you find yourself having the urge/are experimenting with drugs as a way to cope with anxiety, please visit DrugRehab.com. I found the site insightful and reassuring.
  • AnxietyBC has a lot of downloadable resources on anxiety disorders. It also has a self-help section that you may find useful.
  • If you are dating someone with anxiety disorder, check out this list of advice.
  • If you want to help someone cope with anxiety, this site explains the do’s and dont’s.

I will constantly write about self-care practices and experiences on anxiety here. 🙂 If you are experiencing anxiety, please please please remember:

Image result for you will be okay gif

Leave a Reply

